Two more Buckeyes join watch lists

class="st_facebook_hcount" displayText="Share">
/">Follow Noon | Givler | Axelrod
COLUMBUS, Ohio -- One day after a total of five Ohio State players made appearances on two different preseason award watch lists, two more Buckeyes earned similar honors.
OSU center Corey Linsley appears on the initial watch list for the Rimington Trophy, while tight end Jeff Heuerman has been named to the watch list for the John Mackey Award for the first time in his college career.
The Rimington Trophy is awarded annually to college football's premiere center. Entering his second season as the Buckeyes' starting center, Linsley helped anchor an Ohio State offensive line that helped pave the way for the nation's 10th-ranked rushing offense in 2012. The senior from Youngstown, Ohio would be the first Buckeye to win the award since LeCharles Bentley took it home in 2001.
Heuerman, conversely, would be the first OSU player to win the Mackey Award, which has been presented to the country's most outstanding tight end since 2000. A starter in nine of the Buckeyes' 12 games last season, the now-junior recorded eight receptions for 94 yards and a touchdown in his sophomore year. The Naples, Fla. native was routinely mentioned by OSU head coach Urban Meyer as one of the Buckeyes' top playmakers during spring practice this offseason.
Semifinalists for the Mackey Award will be announced on Nov. 11, with finalists being named on Nov. 25. With finalists for the Rimington Trophy being named on Dec. 9, winners for both awards will be announced on Dec. 12 as a part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show on ESPNU.
Tomorrow, the watch lists for both the Lou Groza (top place-kicker) and Ray Guy (punter of the year) awards will be announced.