Simply the best

The awards are rolling in for Ohio State guard Evan Turner as the U.S. Basketball Writers Association voted the junior as the 2009-10 Oscar Robertson Trophy winner. The award is presented annually to the National Player of the Year.
The votes were tallied from more than the 900 journalists that comprise of the USBWA. The award takes its name from the legendary Oscar Robertson who was the USBWA's first winner of its player of the year. The award was renamed for Robertson in the late 90s.
Turner is the first Buckeye to win the award since Jerry Lucas won the award in consecutive years in 1961-62. The Buckeye is also the first Big Ten player to win the award since Glenn Robinson won it in 1994.
The 6-foot-7, 210-pounder from Chicago joined Ohio State great Jimmy Jackson as the only Buckeyes with 1,000 career points, 500 rebounds and 300 assists. Turner also won the Big Ten player of the week award seven times this season and ten overall during his three year career.
"I think he's very deserving," Ohio State coach Thad Matta said in a release to the USBWA.. "I am very proud of what he's done, the work he's done to put himself in position to win the award is something that's truly amazing. He's one of the most multi-dimensional players in the country. He has an ability to score the basketball, drive it, get to the foul line, and shoot threes. His passing makes everyone on the floor that much better."
Turner bounced back from 2 broken bones in his back after a bad fall from a missed dunk against Eastern Michigan December 5th at Value City Arena. Turner missed six games while recovering and the team went 3-3 during that span. With Turner in the lineup the Bucks have gone 26-4.
Turner led the Big Ten in scoring (20 points) and rebounding (9.2 rebounds) as well as being second in the league in assists and steals. Turner also recorded two triple-doubles this season and came within one rebound and one assist of recording one against Georgia Tech in the round of 32 in the NCAA Tournament. Turner is only the second Buckeye to record a triple-double in Ohio State's recorded history.
The Final Four will be the backdrop for the Naismith Award which is the other major National Player of the Year. Turner is also in contention for the Bob Cousy Award for the nation's top point guard. Turner is the surprise finalist playing more of a point forward role.
The Buckeyes will be back in action on Friday evening against Tennessee in the Sweet 16 of the NCAA Tournament in St. Louis. If the Bucks advance they will face the winner of Michigan State and Northern Iowa.