football Edit

Seven Buckeyes named All-Big Ten

class="st_facebook_hcount" displayText="Share">
/twitter.com/Kevin_Noon">Follow Noon | Givler | Axelrod | Birmingham
COLUMBUS, Ohio -- With its 26-21 win over Michigan on Saturday, Ohio State capped off a perfect 12-0 season, giving the Buckeyes the Big Ten Leaders Division championship and the best record in the conference. That was reflected in the announcement of the All-Big Ten teams on Monday, where seven Ohio State players were named to the conference's first-team, including two who walked away with individual awards.

A year after being named the Big Ten's Freshman of the Year in 2011, quarterback Braxton Miller led the way for the Buckeyes, being named the conference's first-team signal caller by the media, as well as the Griese-Brees Quarterback of the Year. The sophomore for Huber Heights, Ohio. Amassing a school record 3,310 yards, Miller was responsible for 28 touchdowns in 2012, throwing for 15 and rushing for another 13.

Joining Miller on the conference's first-team offense is left guard Andrew Norwell, who helped anchor a much-improved OSU offensive line that helped pave the way for the Buckeyes to rank 10th in the nation in rushing, with 242.3 yards per game.

Defensively, a collective five Buckeyes were named to the media and coaches first teams, including linebacker Ryan Shazier, who was selected to the media's first-team and coaches' second-team. The true sophomore from Plantation, Fla. finished third in the conference in tackles with 115, 17 of which came of a loss, in addition to adding five sacks and one interception to his season stat line.

The conference's leader in sacks, defensive end John Simon also made the Big Ten's first-team defense, capping off a senior season that saw the senior from Youngstown, Ohio finish fifth in OSU history in both sacks and tackles for loss. Simon was also named the Smith-Brown Defensive Lineman of the Year for his efforts this season.

"I am happy for all of the members of this team who are being honored, and also for their teammates, whose hard work helped these guys earn this Big Ten recognition," OSU coach Urban Meyer said. "It is a tribute to the work ethic of both John Simon and Braxton Miller, coupled with the fact that they are both excellent football players, that they were named players of the year at their positions."

Joining Simon on the conference's first team is the player who spent the season lining up next to him, defensive tackle Johnathan Hankins, who recorded 55 tackles and a sack in his junior campaign. A potential first round pick in the 2013 NFL Draft, Hankins was named a first-team player by the Big Ten coaches, and a second-team player by the media.

The Buckeyes' secondary was also represented on the Big Ten's first-team defense, in the form of cornerbacks Bradley Roby and Travis Howard. A selection to both the media and coaches' first-teams, Roby recorded two interceptions and 17 pass breakups in 2012, while finishing third on Ohio State's roster with 63 tackles, while Howard, selected to the media's first-team, recorded four interceptions and 40 tackles, while breaking up six passes.

"Being named all-Big Ten just shows that hard work really does pay off," Roby said. "I think I was having a pretty good year, but I am most happy that we won all of our games. That's what makes you feel really good."

The Buckeyes were also well represented on the All-Big Ten second-teams, where running back Carlos Hyde, wide receiver Corey Brown, left tackle Jack Mewhort, and safety Christian Bryant all made the cut.

Safety C.J. Barnett, right tackle Reid Fragel, center Corey Linsley, and linebacker Etienne Sabino all received honorable mentions. Linebacker Zach Boren was Ohio State's honoree for the conference's sportsmanship award.



Honorable Mention (Coaches): ILLINOIS: Akeem Spence; INDIANA: Ted Bolser; Dan Feeney; Cody Latimer; Jason Spriggs; IOWA: C.J. Fiedorowicz; Anthony Hitchens; Mike Meyer; Matt Tobin; MICHIGAN: J.T. Floyd; Jeremy Gallon; Brendan Gibbons; Will Hagerup; Roy Roundtree; Jake Ryan; MICHIGAN STATE: Denicos Allen; William Gholston; Isaiah Lewis; Chris McDonald; Marcus Rush; MINNESOTA: Michael Carter; NEBRASKA: Ben Cotton; Ciante Evans; Justin Jackson; P.J. Smith; NORTHWESTERN: Ibraheim Campbell; Brian Mulroe: Tyler Scott; Patrick Ward; OHIO STATE: C.J. Barnett; Travis Howard; Corey Linsley; Jack Mewhort; Andrew Norwell; PENN STATE: Adrian Amos; Deion Barnes; Kyle Carter; Mike Farrell; Matt McGloin; Stephon Morris; PURDUE: Antavian Edison; Josh Johnson; Cody Webster; WISCONSIN: Beau Allen; Marcus Cromartie; Travis Frederick; David Gilbert; Ethan Hemer; Drew Meyer; Devin Smith; Dezmen Southward; Mike Taylor.

Honorable Mention (Media): ILLINOIS: Jonathan Brown; Michael Buchanan; Terry Hawthorne; Graham Pocic; Akeem Spence; Hugh Thornton; INDIANA: Ted Bolser; Mitch Ewald; Dan Feeney; Greg Heban; Will Matte; Jason Spriggs; Shane Wynn; IOWA: C.J. Fiedorowicz; James Ferentz; Joe Gaglione; Anthony Hitchens; Mike Meyer; James Morris; MICHIGAN: William Campbell; J.T. Floyd; Devin Funchess; Jeremy Gallon; Brendan Gibbons; Jordan Kovacs; Patrick Omameh; Denard Robinson; Craig Roh; Roy Roundtree; MICHIGAN STATE: Denicos Allen; Isaiah Lewis; Chris McDonald; Marcus Rush; MINNESOTA: Michael Carter; Ra'Shede Hageman; Troy Stoudermire; NEBRASKA: Ameer Abdullah; Will Compton; Ben Cotton; Ciante Evans; Justin Jackson; Brett Maher (punter); Kyler Reed; P.J. Smith; Baker Steinkuhler; NORTHWESTERN: Chi Chi Ariguzo; Ibraheim Campbell; Kain Colter; David Nwabuisi; Damien Proby; Tyler Scott; Patrick Ward; OHIO STATE: C.J. Barnett; Corey Brown; Christian Bryant; Reid Fragel; Corey Linsley; Etienne Sabino; PENN STATE: Adrian Amos; Deion Barnes; Mike Farrell; Matt McGloin; Stephon Morris; Sean Stanley; Zach Zwinak; PURDUE: Ricardo Allen; Antavian Edison; Landon Feichter; Cody Webster; WISCONSIN: Beau Allen; Chris Borland; Marcus Cromartie; David Gilbert; Ryan Groy; Drew Meyer; Jacob Pedersen; Dezmen Southward

Big Ten Sportmanship Award Honorees: Nathan Scheelhaase, ILL; Nicholas Sliger, IND; James Vandenberg, IOWA; Jordan Kovacs, MICH; Keith Mumphery, MSU; Mike Rallis, MINN; Rex Burkhead, NEB; Demetrius Fields, NU; Zach Boren, OSU; Jordan Hill, PSU; Robert Maci, PUR; Shelton Johnson, WIS

Griese-Brees Quarterback of the Year:Braxton Miller, Ohio State

Richter-Howard Receiver of the Year: Allen Robinson, Penn State

Ameche-Dayne Running Back of the Year:
Montee Ball, Wisconsin

Kwalick-Clark Tight End of the Year: Jacob Pedersen, Wisconsin

Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the Year:
Taylor Lewan, Michigan

Smith-Brown Defensive Lineman of the Year:
John Simon, Ohio State

Butkus-Fitzgerald Linebacker of the Year:
Michael Mauti, Penn State

Tatum-Woodson Defensive Back of the Year:
Micah Hyde, Iowa

Bakken-Andersen Kicker of the Year: Brett Maher, Nebraska and Jeff Budzien, Northwestern

Eddleman-Fields Punter of the Year: Will Hagerup, Michigan