Corey Brown named to Biletnikoff watch list

class="st_facebook_hcount" displayText="Share">
/">Follow Noon | Givler | Axelrod | Birmingham
Despite being a part of a passing attack in which no player tallied more than 14 receptions a season ago, Ohio State wide receiver Corey Brown was named to the watch list for the Biletnikoff Award on Tuesday.

The true junior was one of three Buckeyes to pull in a team-high 14 receptions in 2011. Brown's catches netted him 205 yards and one touchdown a season ago.

Ohio State coach Urban Meyer listed Brown as one of his top two wide receivers at the end of spring camp. He could also see time at the running back-wide receiver hybrid position in Meyer's offense this fall.

Presented by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation since 1994, the Biletnikoff Award is given annually to college football's most outstanding receiver. Terry Glenn (1995) is the only Ohio State player to have won the award.

A native of Upper Darby, Pa., Brown is one of 49 players to be names to Tuesday's watch list. Semi-finalists for the award will be announced on Nov. 12, with three finalists being named on Nov. 19. The award will be presented on Dec. 6 as a part of the Home Depot College Awards Show on ESPN.

Other Buckeyes named to award watch lists this season include quarterback Braxton Miller (Maxwell Award), defensive end John Simon (Bednarik Award, Nagurski Trophy, Lombardi Award), defensive tackle Johnathan Hankins (Bednarik Award, Nagurski Trophy, Lombardi Award), tight end Jake Stoneburner (Mackey Award, Lombardi Award), kicker Drew Basil (Groza Award), safety C.J. Barnett (Thorpe Award), and linebacker Etienne Sabino (Butkus Award).